D.O. Costers de Segre Wines

The quality that distinguishes our territory

Description of the zone

Costers del Segre, the denomination located in the demarcation of Lleida, is formed by six sub-zones: Artesa, Vall de Riu Corb, Les Garrigues, Pallars Jussà, Raimat and Segrià. These zones all have different soil and climatic characteristics, and the grape varieties grown in them are also different. The main characteristics of the Raïmat sub-zone are its gentle relief and continental climate with a slight Mediterranean influence. Las Garrigues and the Vall de Riu Corb are dry, arid areas that are subject to long hours of sunshine. Artesa, located further to the north, is influenced by he Pyrenees, and has quite an extreme climate. El Pallars Jussà is the highest altitude zone of vine cultivation. El Segrià has the typical characteristics the plains of Lleida. The six sub-zones are all notable for the diversity of the wines that they produce. In each sub-zone, it is possible to find examples of each of the most prestigious red grape varieties; pinot noir, cabernet sauvignon, merlot, and ull de llebre. Other wines are produced for blending, including young whites and others - made from parellada and macabeu or varieties of chardonnay - that have been aged in wood for a year. Then there are rosés and sparkling wines made from xarel·lo, macabeu and parellada. Varieties (white): Macabeo, Xarel·lo, Parellada, Chardonnay, Garnacha blanca, and the authorised varieties Riesling and Sauvignon blanco, for white wines Varieties (red): Garnacha tinta, Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Monastrell, Trepat, Samsó, Pinot Noir, and the authorised variety Syrah, for red wines.

Control Board for the Costers del Segre Denomination of Origin
Complex de la Caparrella, 97
25192 Lleida (El Segrià)
Tel: 973 26 45 83 Fax: 973 26 60 78
Web: www.costersdelsegre.es